Die Spezialisierung von Tobias Kaufmann liegt in den technischen Bereichen der Elektrotechnik, Informatik und Medizintechnik, insbesondere Telekommunikation und Mobilfunk, häufig in Verbindung mit Standards (GSM, 3GPP, LTE, LTE-A), Computer- und Netzwerktechnologien, einschließlich der Hard- und Software von Smartphones und Tablets, Signalverarbeitung (Sprach-, Bild- und Videokodierung), Kryptographie und medizintechnische Geräte und Verfahren. Daneben auch regelmäßig patentanwaltliche Tätigkeiten im Maschinenbau, insbesondere in der Fertigungs-und Verpackungsindustrie.

Neben der Betreuung von Patentanmeldeverfahren liegt sein Fokus auf Einspruchs-, Beschwerde-, Nichtigkeits- und Verletzungsverfahren. Die Beratung von Mandanten zu Fragen der Validität und Verletzung von technischen Schutzrechten und die Erstellung von Gutachten stellen einen weiteren Schwerpunkt dar.

Für seine anwaltliche Praxis kann Tobias Kaufmann auch auf langjährige wirtschaftliche und rechtliche Erfahrungen zurückgreifen, die er in seinen früheren Tätigkeiten als Inhouse IPR Manager bei einem führenden Unternehmen der Elektrotechnik und als Patentingenieur in einer renommierten internationalen Großkanzlei gewonnen hat.

Patentanwalt, European Patent Attorney, Partner
Standort: München
Sprachen: Deutsch, Englisch
Jahrgang 1982
2016
2016 - heute

Partner der Kanzlei

2015
2015 - heute

Patentanwalt und European Patent Attorney bei BARDEHLE PAGENBERG, München

2015

Zulassung als Patentanwalt

2012
2012 - 2015

European Patent Attorney bei BARDEHLE PAGENBERG, München

2012 - 2014

Studium Recht für Patentanwälte an der Fernuniversität Hagen

2012

Zulassung als European Patent Attorney

2009
2009 - 2012

Patentingenieur bei Lovells LLP und Hogan Lovells International LLP, Düsseldorf

2006
2006 - 2007

Studium an der ETH Zürich, Schweiz; Abschluss als Master of Advanced Studies (ETH) in Intellectual Property

2004
2004 - 2009

Technical Information und Intellectual Property Specialist bei Rohde & Schwarz GmbH & Co. KG, München

2001
2001 - 2004

Studium der Informationstechnik an der Berufsakademie Ravensburg; Abschluss als Dipl.-Ing. (BA)

Tobias Kaufmann specializes in the fields of electrical engineering, computer science, medical engineering, and particularly telecommunications and mobile radio technology, usually in relation to standards (GSM, 3GPP, LTE, LTE-A), computer and network technology, including hardware and software for smart phones and tablets, signal processing (speech, image and voice coding), cryptography, and medical devices and methods. In addition, his work as a patent attorney frequently involves areas of mechanical engineering, particularly in the manufacturing and packaging industries.

Besides patent prosecution, he is also involved in opposition, appeal, nullity and infringement proceedings. A further area of his practice includes advising clients on issues relating to validity and infringement of technical IP rights and preparing relevant opinions.

In his practice as a patent attorney, Tobias Kaufmann is able to draw on many years of commercial and legal experience gained in his previous career as an in-house IPR manager for a leading electronics company and as a patent engineer for a prestigious international law firm.

German and European Patent Attorney, Partner
Location: Munich
Languages: German, English
Born 1982
2016
2016 - today

Partner of the firm

2015
2015 - today

German and European Patent Attorney at BARDEHLE PAGENBERG, Munich, Germany

2015

Licensed to practice as a German Patent Attorney

2012
2012 - 2015

European Patent Attorney at BARDEHLE PAGENBERG, Munich, Germany

2012 - 2014

Law for Patent Attorneys at the FernUniversität, Hagen, Germany

2012

Licensed to practice as a European Patent Attorney

2009
2009 - 2012

Patent Engineer at Lovells LLP and Hogan Lovells International LLP, Düsseldorf, Germany

2006
2006 - 2007

Master of Advanced Studies (ETH) in Intellectual Property at ETH Zurich, Switzerland

2004
2004 - 2009

Technical Information Manager and Intellectual Property Manager at Rohde & Schwarz GmbH & Co. KG, Munich, Germany

2001
2001 - 2004

Degree in Information Technology (Dipl.-Ing.) at the University of Cooperative Education of Ravensburg, Germany