Dieter Stauder bringt mehr als vier Jahrzehnte Erfahrung aus Forschung und Lehre auf dem Gebiet des Geistigen Eigentums ein. Seine berufliche Laufbahn begann an der Universität München und gleichzeitig am Max-Planck-Institut für ausländisches und internationales Patent-, Urheber- und Wettbewerbsrecht; hier leitete er neben seiner Assistententätigkeit die Abteilung der Länder des Englischen Rechts. Stauder war von 1992 bis 2006 Direktor der Internationalen Sektion des Centre d' Études Internationales de la Propriété Industrielle (CEIPI) in Strasbourg und Professeur associé an der Université Robert Schuman. Er war während dieser Tätigkeit Angestellter des EPA, das ihn zur Ausbildung der Kandidaten der Europäischen Eignungsprüfung in Nachfolge von Romuald Singer berufen hatte.

Der Schwerpunkt seiner praktischen, lehrbezogenen und akademischen Arbeit liegt auf dem Gebiet des europäischen Patentrechts in Form der empirischen Forschung und der Rechtsvergleichung. Besonderes Interesse gilt Fragen der Gerichtsbarkeit und der Patentverletzungsverfahren.

Rechtsanwalt
Standort: München
Sprachen: Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch
Jahrgang 1940
Mitgliedschaften

Er ist zusammen mit Manuel Desantes Real aus Alicante Gründer des European Intellectual Property Institutes Network (EIPIN), das seit 15 Jahren existiert und das heute die Institute des CEIPI, des Magister Lvcentinvs, des Queen Mary Intellectual Property Research Institute, des Munich Intellectual Law Center und des Institute for Globalisation and International Regulation in Maastricht umfaßt. Der Schwerpunkt der Betreuung des europäischen Patentrechts liegt bei CEIPI, dem Centre d'Etudes Internationales de la Propriété Intellectuelle, einem Institut der Université Strasbourg, dessen Membre honoraire du Conseil d’administration Dieter Stauder heute ist und dessen Ausbau er energisch betrieben hat. Konsequenterweise ist er in der Kanzlei wegen der Aus- und Fortbildung beteiligt worden. 

Unter den Fachverbänden hat Dieter Stauder früh in GRUR seinen Platz gefunden, in deren Fachausschuss für Patent- und Gebrauchsmusterrecht er aktiv auch als Schriftführer mitgewirkt hat.

Publikationen

Neben der Ausbildung von ‚Generationen’ von Europäischen Patentanwälten von Straßburg aus steht der Name Stauder für eine Vielzahl von Publikationen auf diesem Gebiet, die in regelmäßigen Abständen veröffentlicht werden. Herausragendes Beispiel für die Veröffentlichungen zum Patentrecht ist der in den Fachkreisen bekannte EPÜ Kommentar „Singer/Stauder“.

Vorträge & Seminare

Unterrichtet hat Dieter Stauder an der Universität München, im Max-Planck-Institut, an der Bayerischen Verwaltungsschule und an vielen Seminaren des EPA im In- und Ausland. Er war an den IP-Masterprogrammen in Europa und auch an ihrer Gründung beteiligt und ist heute noch am IP-Studiengang an der TU Dresden tätig.

2006
2006 - heute

Rechtsanwalt bei BARDEHLE PAGENBERG, München

2005
2005 - heute

Auswärtiges Mitglied des Direktoriums des Instituts für Geistiges Eigentum, Wettbewerbsrecht und Medienrecht (GEWeM) der Technischen Universität Dresden

1992
1992 - 2006

Directeur de la Section Internationale du Centre d'Études Internationales de la Propriété Industrielle (CEIPI) in Straßburg, Frankreich; Professeur associé an der Universität Robert Schuman, Straßburg, Frankreich

1992 - 2005

Mitglied des Europäischen Patentamts, München

1978
1978 - 1991

Wissenschaftler, Leiter der Abteilung für Angelsächsisches Recht am Max-Planck-Institut für Ausländisches und Internationales Patent-, Urheber-und Wettbewerbsrecht, München

1976
1976 - 1977

Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Institut für Gewerblichen Rechtsschutz und Urheberrecht der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität, München

1974
1974

Promotion zum Dr. iur., Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität, München

1967
1967

Zweites juristisches Staatsexamen in Rheinland-Pfalz

1963
1963

Erstes juristisches Staatsexamen an der Universität Freiburg i.Br.

Dieter Stauder has more than 40 years’ experience in teaching and research in the field of intellectual property. His professional career began at the Ludwig Maximilian University and at the Max-Planck-Institute for Foreign and International Patent, Copyright and Competition Law where, in addition to his work as an assistant, he also headed the Department of English Law. Between 1992 and 2006, he was the Director of the International Section of the “Centre d'Etudes Internationales de la Propriété Industrielle” (CEIPI) in Strasbourg and Associate Professor of the University Robert Schuman, whilst simultaneously working for the European Patent Office, which had appointed him to train candidates for the European Qualifying Examination.

The main areas of his practice and his teaching and academic work relate to European patent law, with an emphasis on empirical research and comparative law. Dieter Stauder has a particular interest in the fields of jurisdiction and patent infringement proceedings.

Attorney-at-Law
Location: Munich
Languages: German, English, French
Born 1940
Memberships

Together with Manuel Desantes Real from Alicante, he co-founded the European Intellectual Property Institutes Network (EIPIN) which, having been established 15 years ago, now comprises the institutes of CEIPI, the Magister Lvcentinvs, the Queen Mary Intellectual Property Research Institute, the Munich Intellectual Property Law Center and the Institute for Globalisation and International Regulation in Maastricht. European patent law is significantly the domain of CEIPI (Centre d'Etudes Internationales de la Propriété Intellectuelle), an institute forming part of the University of Strasbourg of which Dieter Stauder, the driving force behind its development, is currently “Membre honoraire du Conseil d'administration” (honorary member of the Administrative Council).

Consequently, his role within Bardehle Pagenberg relates to training and professional development

Among the various professional associations, Dieter Stauder soon found his niche within GRUR, in which he has been actively involved as secretary of the expert committee for patent and utility model law.

Publications

Besides tutoring 'generations' of European Patent Attorneys, Dieter Stauder has also published many works in his field and is still publishing on a regular basis. One outstanding example of his publications in the field of patent law is the work 'Singer/Stauder', a commentary on the European Patent Convention, published in English in its 3rd edition (2003).

Lectures & Seminars

Dieter Stauder taught at the Ludwig Maximilian University, the Max Planck Institute, the Bavarian Administrative School and many EPO seminars in Germany and abroad. He was involved in the IP Masters programs in Europe, including in setting them up, and is currently involved in the IP courses at the Technical University of Dresden.

2006
2006 - today

Attorney-at-Law with the firm BARDEHLE PAGENBERG, Munich, Germany

2005
2005 - today

Foreign member of the Board of Directors of the Institute for intellectual property and unfair competition and media law (Institut für Geistiges Eigentum, Wettbewerbsrecht und Medienrecht [GEWeM]) of the Technical University of Dresden, Germany

1992
1992 - 2006

Director of the International Section of the “Centre d'Etudes Internationales de la Propriété Industrielle” (CEIPI) in Strasbourg, France; Associate Professor of the University Robert Schuman, Strasbourg, France

1992 - 2005

Member of the European Patent Office, Munich, Germany

1978
1978 - 1991

Scientist and Head of Department of English Law at the Max-Planck-Institute for Foreign and International Patent, Copyright and Unfair Competition Law, Munich, Germany

1976
1976 - 1977

Scientific Assistant at the Institute for Intellectual Property and Copyright at the Ludwig Maximilian University, Munich, Germany

1974
1974

Ph.D. (Dr. iur.) Ludwig Maximilian University, Munich, Germany

1967
1967

Second State Law Examination (bar admission exam)

1963
1963

First State Law Examination (degree-level qualification: University of Freiburg, Germany)